West Virginia Division of Labor
Acting Commissioner John R. Junkins

 

West Virginia Division of Labor Wage & Hour

small logo
Home>Fact Sheets> Child Labor

 

Child Labor

Seems like every year as school lets out for the summer, a lot of our younger citizens enter the job market to make extra money for school or other expenses.

For teenagers who want to work, the Child Labor Law (WV Code ß 21-6) requires that minors 14 and 15 years of age obtain work permits, and those 16 and 17 years of age (upon request of the employer) obtain age certificates from the Boards of Education in the counties in which they live.

A copy of the permit or certificate is forwarded to the Division of Labor who is charged with the responsibility of assuring the minor is not working in an unsafe environment or performing duties not suitable to their age.

 

Application for Work Permit and/or Age Certificate
Supervision Permit Form
Age Specific Guidelines

 


 

 

About Us | Website/Technical| Questions about Labor | Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Site Map | ©2009 WV Division of Labor